JavaScript Menu, DHTML Menu Powered By Milonic

25th Anniversary

About IDDS

History and Mission

Staff and Interns

Contact, Directions


Nuclear Proliferation

Nuclear Forces

Nuclear Treaties



Other WMD

Conventional Armaments

Security Institutions

Peace-Building Tools


Public Education






IDDS Board of Directors and Officers 2005
For a brief biography, please click on the name.



Dr Judith Reppy, Board Chair, Founding board member (1980)
Professor, Department of Science and Technology Studies, and Associate Director, Peace Studies Program, Cornell University.
Dr Hayward Alker, Former President and founding board member (1980)
John A McCone Professor of International Relations, University of Southern California School of International Relations
Dr Joshua Cohen, Board member since 1993
Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of the Humanities (philosophy and political science), Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dr Bruce Cumings, Board member since 2001
Norman and Edna Freehling Professor of History, University of Chicago.
Amb. (ret.) Jonathan Dean, Member since 1990
Adviser on Global Security Issues, Union of Concerned Scientists
Dr Matthew Evangelista, Board member since 1993
Professor, Department of Government, and Director, Peace Studies Program, Cornell University
Dr Natalie Goldring, Board member since 1990
Executive Director, Security Studies Program and the Center for Peace and Security Studies, Georgetown University, Edmund A Walsh School of Foreign Service
Dr Robert Legvold, Board member since 1993
Professor, Department of Political Science, Columbia University
Dr Philip Morrison*, Founding board member (1980)
MIT Institute Professor Emeritus, former Professor of Theoretical Physics, specializing in Astronomy and Cosmology. *Deceased 22 April 2005.


Amb.(ret.) Jonathan Dean, President, Officer since 1995
Dr Joshua Cohen, Treasurer, Officer since 1995
Alex Brown, Secretary,Officer since 2001
Ann Hallan Lakhdhir, IDDS UN Representative, Founding officer (1980)
Dr Randall Caroline Forsberg, Executive Director, Founding officer (1980)

2005 IDDS, 675 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge MA 02139, USA